Har Mar Superstar & Father John Misty: The Stars Align by Jessie H.

Posted on

It is safe to say that I’ve been a fan of Har Mar Superstar for years now. I have a lot of his earlier albums, but I’ve never had the opportunity to see him perform. It’s not that I didn’t want to, I just never knew when he was coming to town. So when his name popped up on my computer I jumped at the chance to see the chubby songster. I had heard his live shows were impressive, but that was years ago. I wondered if the cherub of sex still oozed the way he used to. All I knew was that I was in for a treat. A very weird treat. And what a tasty treat it was. The astounding trio of John Belushi, Jack Black and Ron Jeremy were in attendance last night in the form of one man. Har Mar Superstar a.k.a. Sean Tillmann was indeed that man. Words can’t describe how bizarrely fantastic this guy is, but I’m going to try. Firstly, I must point out that no matter what HMS was wearing the bottom of his gut was always displayed proudly. It was obvious this was the least of concerns. If HMS wasn’t prancing around peeling clothes from his body, he was doing audience provided jäger shots. He promised that as long the shots kept coming the show would continue to get weird. He kept his promise. Tillmann proceeded to dive into the audience, get on his knees and sing into a wide variety of crotches. The crowd ate it up. For one hour the sweaty performer had the entire audience in the palm of his hand. That’s not all he had in his hand though. When things would begin to slow, HMS would reach in his skivvies and release his “love” into the crowd of stunned voyeurs. Har Mar finished the set in his underwear, and oddly enough, the crowd didn’t seem to mind as the fat man we had all came to love sweat on us one last time. Father John Misty a.k.a. Joshua Tillman was up next. I had given the album a few listens, and I wasn’t the biggest fan. I’d get pretty bored pretty quick and usually end up switching midway. I knew some people who’d like it, but aside from a few stand out tracks it just wasn’t for me. Knowing that Josh Tillman was the drummer for Fleet Foxes I figured I’d give the live show a chance. I grabbed a cold one and unknowingly headed into the land of excellence. Josh Tillman had already been on stage tonight drumming for Har Mar Superstar, and while Father John Misty didn’t appear as odd as Har Mar, he is just as unpredictable. Father John Misty came out to Kanye West. What a badass. You’re a folk band, and you’re strutting out to Kanye. Kudos good sirs, you have balls. With Har Mar Superstar I had some sort of idea of what I was getting into, but after such a bold introduction I didn’t know what to expect from Father John Misty. Like, Har Mar, Tillman quickly had the crowd entranced. No matter the tempo the audience was stuck gazing as the gangly fellow would gyrate to the beat of his own drum. It was like one of those American Beauty plastic bag type moments where although it wasn’t something I’d normally be obsessed with I couldn’t help but to continue to stare. It was quickly apparent that Tillman had a sharp tongue. Between songs he’d share stories from the road and respond to the crowd quickly and on point. It almost seemed scripted at times. Someone yelled “muscles” when all of Father John Misty was rolling up their sleeves. It quickly became an ongoing joke. Tillman and company would flex between songs and even went as far as saying they had exercise tapes available at the merch table. The crowd remained impressed through the set, but as soon as the house music turned on nearly everyone scattered like roaches. Haven’t you guys heard of an encore? I suppose that’s my only gripe. There were a few of key songs left out that I’d like to have seen performed. I’m almost sure they were saving them for the encore, but because of the disinterest of the crowd Father John Misty never reclaimed the stage.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.